Institute on Assets and Social Policy

The Heller School for Social Policy and ManagementReturn to this website's homepageBrandeis University

Team

Our staff, senior advisory board, Heller School faculty affiliates, and graduate student research assistants bring to the Institute's work diverse experience and expertise from the academic, public, nonprofit, and private sectors. For a listing of team members click on the links below:

Staff

Director: Thomas Shapiro |(781) 736-4671 | tshapiro@brandeis.edu | Biography

Associate Director: Janet Boguslaw | (781) 736-3738 | boguslaw@brandeis.edu | Biography

Research Director: Tatjana Meschede | (781) 736-8687 | meschede@brandeis.edu | Biography

Policy Director: Sandra Venner | (781) 736-8688 | venner@brandeis.edu | Biography

Department Coordinator: Charity Adams | (781) 736-8685 | cadams1@brandeis.edu | Biography

Senior Scientist: Laurie Nsiah-Jefferson | (781) 736-3757 | ljeffers@brandeis.edu | Biography

Research Associate: Delia Kimbrel | (781) 736-8681 | ddkimb@brandeis.edu | Biography

Research Associate: Laura Sullivan | lauras@brandeis.edu | Biography

Research Associate: Jessica Santos | (781) 736-8680 | jsantos@brandeis.edu | Biography

Graduate Research Assistants

Sara Chaganti | PhD Social Policy & Sociology | schagant@brandeis.edu | Biography

Lars Dietrich | PhD Social Policy | dietrich@brandeis.edu | Biography

Melanie Doupé Gaiser | PhD Health Policy | Biography

Caroline Koch | MBA Nonprofit Management, MPP | ckoch@brandeis.edu | Biography

Alexis Mann | PhD Social Policy & Sociology | armann@brandeis.edu | Biography

Consuelo "Alex" Revis | MPP Sustainable International Development | crevis1@brandeis.edu | Biography

Nicole Rodriguez | MPP | nrod@brandeis.edu | Biography

Faculty Affiliates

Andrew Hahn, PhD '78 | (781) 736-3774 | ahahn@brandeis.edu | Biography

Anita Hill | (781) 736-3896 | ahill@brandeis.edu | Biography

Jeffrey Prottas | (781) 736-3955 | prottas@brandeis.edu | Biography

Senior Advisory Board

BOB HERBERT: Mr. Herbert is an award-winning journalist with a long and distinguished career including an Op-Ed column on politics and social trends in The New York Times. He has been a regular correspondent for The Today Show and NBC Nightly News and has been honored by the American Society of Newspaper Editors for distinguished newspaper writing and by the Meyer Badge Award for coverage of New York City.

MELVIN L. OLIVER: Dr. Oliver is an expert on racial and urban inequality and poverty as well as the SAGE Sara Miller McCune Dean of Social Sciences and Professor of Sociology at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He co-authored Black Wealth/White Wealth: A New Perspective on Racial Inequality (2006) with IASP Director Dr. Thomas Shapiro. In addition, Dr. Oliver has vast experience in philanthropy from his time as Vice President of the Asset Building and Community Development (Assets) Program at the Ford Foundation and serves on numerous nonprofit boards.

PAULA PARIS, MMHS '79: Ms. Paris is Deputy Director at JFYNetWorks and has broad experience in commercial banking, fundraising in education and the arts, and public policy research, specifically workforce development. In addition to serving as an adjunct professor at Southern New Hampshire University’s School of Community Economic Development since 1999, Ms. Paris is a member of Heller’s Board of Overseers and a Heller alumna.

Copyright 2014 • Brandeis University • All rights are reserved